Lifeweavings #3

This piece shows the 9 Stages of Life as described by Erik and Joan Erickson, from infancy (the light blue row) through very old age (the gold row at the top). Each stage has been illustrated by colors and fabric selection, as well as the strength people can gain during each stage is written in thread as part of the quilting. For example, during infancy we can gain Hope and Trust…
This art quilt is pieced by handweaving strips of fabric to compose each stage. Afterward the weaving is stitched together with colorful rayon threads. The words were added by free-motion quilting and threadsketching.

A hanging sleeve has been added to the back for ease in displaying.

"A Penny for Your Thoughts...& Comments!"

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.